Running Commentary:
You Are:

URL or Email:

You say:

Thanks to TagBoard

May 23rd, 2002 - 10:21 p.m.

A plea for the art of conversation.

It seems that modern people lack an ability to distinguish between communication and conversation. Communication is a science, meant solely to relay sets of information between parties. Conversation is an art, and should either serve to entertain or annoy, but never to inform another of anything of import. Like amuses bouche, they are delicious and tempting, but hardly fulfils the appetite for knowledge.

Now in order for conversation to glide without fear for loss of momentum, the conversationalists in question are required to understand that a good dialogue is symbiotic.

For example, communication is thus:
Alpha: You are ridiculous.
Beta: I have decided to take whatever you say with a grain of salt.

Whereas, conversation is thus:
Alpha: You are ridiculous.
Beta: My doctor warned me against this.
Alpha: Against conversing with me? My dear fellow, you are in need of a new doctor.
Beta: Actually, it was my sodium intake my doctor was concerned for. I am afraid you concern no one.
Alpha: Pish! To be another�s concern is to be indebted. And we both know full well that well chosen words are best consumed when seasoned with a goodly amount of fleur de sel.
Beta: Indeed. And so I assume....

Well, I believe the general idea is conveyed. So, I do implore you, please maintain the art of conversation, its death shall mean that there shall no longer be stylish boredom. We must rid ourselves of this parasitic pest of communication. In fact, I shall be quite content if clear exchanges of information were never conducted again. Cleverness is so much more entertaining then clarity.

N.

catching holden
Site Meter